Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy

The tournament ran from the 29 August culminating with a Final at Edgbaston on the 27 September and was named after pioneering World-Cup winner Rachael Heyhoe Flint, a trailblazer in women’s cricket, who passed away in 2017, aged 77.

Eight newly-formed regional professional teams took part in the month-long 50 over tournament featuring a North and South group, with the winners from each group meeting in the Final.

Baroness Rachael Heyhoe Flint is a titanic figure in the history of the women’s game, who challenged convention and fought to progress as a player, administrator and campaigner throughout her life.

Rachael, a local West Midlands girl, represented England in 22 Test matches and 23 ODIs in a career that spanned 19 years and captained England to their first ever World Cup title in 1973.

Off the field, Rachael’s tireless determination for equality laid the foundations for the opportunities available to current day players and it is extremely fitting that this year’s competition was named after her.