Australia have named their squad for the first Men’s LV= Insurance Ashes Test Match against England at Edgbaston, starting on Friday 16 June.

David Warner has been included in the squad after recovering from an elbow injury he suffered against India in February. Marcus Harris, Matt Renshaw and Usman Khawaja are the other opening batters.

All-rounder Mitchell Marsh returns to the squad for the first time since 2019 as back-up to Cameron Green, while England-born wicketkeeper Josh Inglis will provide cover for Alex Carey.

Pat Cummins will once again captain the side with Steve Smith, who averaged 110.57 in the 2019 Ashes including back-to-back hundreds at Edgbaston, as vice-captain.

Cummins is one of just four frontline seam bowlers in the squad along with Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood and Scott Boland.

Australia play India in the World Test Championship final at the Kia Oval from 7 June, before the Ashes begins in Birmingham.

General admission tickets for the first four days at Edgbaston have sold out, but limited premium tickets on the Seat Unique Terrace and hospitality packages remain available.

“I think we’ll get through that Test championship and then start to have a look at what it looks like,” said Chairman of Selectors George Bailey.

“Different opposition, different surface. We’ll work through that.

“I’m not sure we have feared teams in the past, clearly England are playing some really good cricket so we will deal with that as you do with any team when you get there. But I think our focus will be primarily on the way that we want to play.”

Australia squad

Pat Cummins (c)
Scott Boland
Alex Carey
Cameron Green
Marcus Harris
Josh Hazlewood
Travis Head
Josh Inglis
Usman Khawaja
Marnus Labuschagne
Nathan Lyon
Mitch Marsh
Todd Murphy
Matthew Renshaw
Steve Smith
Mitchell Starc
David Warner

Over 75% sold for Women’s Ashes IT20

For the first time, Edgbaston will host a Women’s Ashes IT20 as the oldest rivalry in cricket returns to Birmingham – and over 15,500 tickets have already been sold!

Watch local stars including Amy Jones and Issy Wong in action as we make history on Saturday 1 July, 6.30pm start. Tickets are available from only £17 for adults and under 16s £5.