Warwickshire Academy graduates George Panayi, Liam Banks and Henry Brookes have been named in England Under-19s squads to face India.

All three Bears have been named in the squad for the two four-day matches, led by Middlesex’s Max Holden, with Banks and Brookes also named in the five-match ODI series, for which the England selectors considered only players who are available for the ICC Under-19 World Cup in New Zealand in early 2018.

Facing the Indians in a return series this summer provides an excellent opportunity to build and to face international opposition in more familiar home conditions.

Andy Hurry

Andy Hurry, the head coach of the Young Lions programme, said: “We had an excellent tour of India earlier this year, when the lads involved learned so much both in red-ball and white-ball cricket.

“Facing the Indians in a return series this summer provides an excellent opportunity to build on that, and to face international opposition in more familiar home conditions.

“It’s going to be fascinating to see our most talented young cricketers put in that position. It’s worth noting that we didn’t consider four eligible players for selection as they are likely to be in contention to play first-team cricket for their counties – Sam Curran, Ollie Pope, Matt Fisher and Delray Rawlins – not to take anything away from the guys who have been selected, but to underline the amount of young talent we have in the domestic game.

“With the ICC World Cup in New Zealand early next year, it made sense only to consider players eligible for that when we were choosing our squad for the Royal London One-Day Series. But that series remains very important in its own right, and there should be some excellent Under-19s cricket for players and spectators to enjoy this summer.”

England will play a two-day warm-up match against a Unicorns XI in Loughborough on July 19-20 before the “Tests”, at Queen’s Park in Chesterfield from July 23-26, then New Road in Worcester from July 31 to August 3.

Eight more players have been selected for an Invitational XI who will provide India with their warm-up opposition, also in Loughborough – meaning a total of 27 youngsters will have the chance to face international opposition this summer, representing 15 of the 18 first-class counties.

The Royal London One-Day Series starts at the SSE SWALEC Stadium in Cardiff on Monday August 7, which is followed by a day-night match at the Spitfire Ground St Lawrence in Canterbury on Wednesday August 9 to be shown live on Sky Sports.

The series continues at the 1st Central County Ground in Hove on Saturday August 12, with match four at the Brightside Ground, Bristol on Monday August 14, and concludes on Wednesday August 16 at the Coopers Associates County Ground in Taunton.

England Under-19s squads

For two four-day matches against India: Max Holden (Middlesex, capt), Liam Banks (Warwickshire), George Bartlett (Somerset), Harry Brook (Yorkshire), Henry Brookes (Warwickshire), Ben Green (Somerset), Will Jacks (Surrey), George Panayi (Warwickshire), Ryan Patel (Surrey), Liam Patterson-White (Nottinghamshire), Matt Potts (Durham), Oli Robinson (Kent, wk), Harry Swindells (Leicestershire, wk), Josh Tongue (Worcestershire), Amar Virdi (Surrey).

For five-match Royal London One-Day Series against India: Harry Brook (Yorkshire, capt), Liam Banks (Warwickshire), Tom Banton (Somerset, wk), Henry Brookes (Warwickshire), Adam Finch (Worcestershire), Alfie Gleadall (Derbyshire), Will Jacks (Surrey), Tom Lammonby (Somerset), Felix Organ (Hampshire), Liam Patterson-White (Nottinghamshire), Jack Plom (Essex), Matt Potts (Durham), Hamidullah Qadri (Derbyshire), Oli Robinson (Kent, wk), Liam Trevaskis (Durham).

For Invitational XI to play India, Loughborough: Adam Finch (Worcestershire), Alfie Gleadall (Derbyshire), Feroze Khushi (Essex), Tom Lammonby (Somerset, wk), Prem Sisodiya (Glamorgan), Fin Trenouth (Somerset, wk), Liam Trevaskis (Durham), Harisson Ward (Sussex).


  • Four-day matches versus India:
    • Queen’s Park, Chesterfield (July 23-26)
    • New Road, Worcester (July 31 – August 3)
    • Warm-up matches: England v Unicorns XI, India v Invitational XI – both Loughborough, July 20-21
  • Royal London One-Day Series versus India:
    • SSE SWALEC Stadium, Cardiff (August 7)
    • Spitfire Ground St Lawrence, Canterbury (August 9, day-night live on Sky Sports)
    • 1st Central County Ground, Hove (August 12)
    • Brightside Ground, Bristol (August 14)
    • Coopers Associates County Ground, Taunton (August 16).