Birmingham Bears all-rounder Chris Woakes has been named by England selectors in a 14-man squad for the Royal London ODI series against Sri Lanka starting on Tuesday June 21 at Trent Bridge .

Eoin Morgan will lead an experienced ODI squad with all representatives having played for England at this level before. Hampshire batsman James Vince will be looking to add to his first cap received in May 2015 against Ireland in Malahide.

National Selector, James Whitaker, said: “We have made good progress over the past 12 months in all white ball cricket, which has been very encouraging.

“The six matches coming up against Sri Lanka will give the players a good test of their credentials. It is important for this group of players to make a mark this summer as we continue to improve ahead of hosting the ICC Champions Trophy tournament this time next year.

“This is also an opportunity, if selected, for two new players to showcase their skills at this level. Tymal Mills has been one of the standout performers with the ball in the NatWest T20 Blast competition this season and deserves his chance.

“Dawid Malan has made great strides as an attacking batsman, both with Middlesex and the England Lions. We were particularly impressed with his three fifties during the winter tour of the UAE against Pakistan A.

“On behalf of the selectors, I would like to wish Eoin Morgan and Trevor Bayliss all the very best for what I’m sure will be a very competitive and entertaining series.”
England ODI Squad

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) (Capt.)
Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)
Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)
Jos Buttler (Lancashire)
Steven Finn (Middlesex)
Chris Jordan (Sussex)
Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire)
Liam Plunkett (Yorkshire)
Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)
Joe Root (Yorkshire)
Jason Roy (Surrey)
James Vince (Hampshire)
David Willey (Yorkshire)
Chris Woakes (Birmingham Bears)


Tuesday June 21 ODI vs Sri Lanka, Trent Bridge, Nottingham

Friday June 24 ODI vs Sri Lanka, Edgbaston, Birmingham

Sunday June 26 ODI vs Sri Lanka, The Brightside Ground, Bristol

Wednesday June 29 ODI vs Sri Lanka, Kia Oval, London

Saturday July 2 ODI vs Sri Lanka, SSE SWALEC, Cardiff