Ian Bell’s excellent 2018 T20 form has been recognised by the Bangladesh Premier League.

Bell, who is the Birmingham Bears all-time run scorer following a fruitful 2018 campaign, has been drafted by last year’s runners-up Dhaka Dynamites.

The 36-year-old fired 580 runs at a strike-rate of 139.08 to overtake Jonathan Trott to top spot and finish the year on 2,111 career T20 runs.

The opener also struck his highest individual and the Bears second all-time T20 innings with a stunning 131 against Northants Steelbacks.

“I’m delighted to have been drafted for the Bangladesh Premier League and I’m extremely excited to be representing the Dhaka Dynamites,” said Bell.

“I was really pleased with my form last season and to become the Birmingham Bears highest ever run scorer is an achievement I’m incredibly proud of.”

The sixth edition of the tournament starts on the 5th January with the final taking place on the 8th February.

This will be Bell’s second time abroad domestically following his 2016 stint in the Big Bash with the Perth Scorchers.

That campaign led to a champions medal and, with a Test average of 158.25 including three centuries and an ODI average of 50.66, Bell will be looking to use his vast experience of the format and conditions to the team’s benefit.

“The Dynamites are a very successful team who have never failed to reach the playoffs so there will be plenty of expectation from the supporters,” Bell added.

“However, with my experience from the Birmingham Bears and Perth Scorchers I believe that I can contribute and help an exciting team that has a nice blend of experience and youth.”

Bell was drafted alongside local fast bowler Rubel Hossain and South African bowler Andrew Birch on Sunday.

They will be joined by Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan and West Indian trio Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine and Rovman Powell who were retained from last year and Afghanistan batsman Hazratullah Zazai and Caribbean all-rounder Andre Russell who were purchased pre-draft.

The experienced side will be hoping to add to the Dynamites three trophies from the previous five seasons which started in 2012.