England selectors have announced a 14-man squad for the Royal London ODI series against Sri Lanka starting on Tuesday June 21 at Trent Bridge and a 13-man squad for the NatWest IT20 match that follows.

Eoin Morgan will lead an experienced ODI squad with all representatives having played for England at this level before. Hampshire batsman James Vince will be looking to add to his first cap received in May 2015 against Ireland in Malahide.

The IT20 squad includes two players who have yet to be capped by England at this level. Sussex pace bowler Tymal Mills, 23, is included having impressed for the Sharks in the early stages of the NatWest T20 Blast competition and Middlesex batsman Dawid Malan, who had an excellent England Lions tour earlier this year against Pakistan A in the UAE, will be hoping to be selected for the match at Hampshire’s Ageas Bowl on Tuesday July 5. Spinner Liam Dawson is the only other player in the squad yet to be capped.

Seven players remain from the ICC World IT20 final defeat to West Indies. Moeen Ali, Alex Hales and Joe Root are all rested and all-rounder Ben Stokes is ruled out with a knee injury.

National Selector, James Whitaker, said: “We have made good progress over the past 12 months in all white ball cricket, which has been very encouraging.

“The six matches coming up against Sri Lanka will give the players a good test of their credentials. It is important for this group of players to make a mark this summer as we continue to improve ahead of hosting the ICC Champions Trophy tournament this time next year.

“The IT20 squad has a balanced feel to it with an exciting blend of youth and experience. This is our first test since reaching the final of the ICC World T20 and we know the players will want to ensure that they play well and win the match.

“This is also an opportunity, if selected, for two new players to showcase their skills at this level. Tymal Mills has been one of the standout performers with the ball in the NatWest T20 Blast competition this season and deserves his chance.

“Dawid Malan has made great strides as an attacking batsman, both with Middlesex and the England Lions. We were particularly impressed with his three fifties during the winter tour of the UAE against Pakistan A.

“On behalf of the selectors, I would like to wish Eoin Morgan and Trevor Bayliss all the very best for what I’m sure will be a very competitive and entertaining series.”

England ODI Squad

  • Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) (Capt.)
  • Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)
  • Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)
  • Jos Buttler (Lancashire)
  • Steven Finn (Middlesex)
  • Chris Jordan (Sussex)
  • Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire)
  • Liam Plunkett (Yorkshire)
  • Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)
  • Joe Root (Yorkshire)
  • Jason Roy (Surrey)
  • James Vince (Hampshire)
  • David Willey (Yorkshire)
  • Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)

England T20 Squad

  • Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) (Capt.)
  • Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)
  • Sam Billings (Kent)
  • Jos Buttler (Lancashire)
  • Liam Dawson (Hampshire)
  • Chris Jordan (Sussex)
  • Dawid Malan (Middlesex)
  • Tymal Mills (Sussex)
  • Liam Plunkett (Yorkshire)
  • Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)
  • Jason Roy (Surrey)
  • James Vince (Hampshire)
  • David Willey (Yorkshire)


Tuesday June 21 ODI vs Sri Lanka, Trent Bridge, Nottingham

Friday June 24 ODI vs Sri Lanka, Edgbaston, Birmingham

Sunday June 26 ODI vs Sri Lanka, The Brightside Ground, Bristol

Wednesday June 29 ODI vs Sri Lanka, Kia Oval, London

Saturday July 2 ODI vs Sri Lanka, SSE SWALEC, Cardiff

Tuesday July 5 IT20 vs Sri Lanka, Ageas Bowl, Southampton

See England play Sri Lanka at Edgbaston

Now the Invested Test series is over the Royal London One-Day international series is just about to begin, and Sri Lanka will be an entirely different proposition in this format of the game.

England will play Sri Lanka on Friday 24 June and with just under 2000 tickets remaining you’d better be quick if you want to experience One-Day cricket without boundaries at Edgbaston. Click here to secure your tickets now.