England Women have announced their squad for the tour of India with Warwickshire Women’s players Jenny Gunn and Amy Jones both included.

Bryony Smith, Alice Davidson-Richards and Katie George – of Surrey, Kent and Hampshire respectively – have been named in the full squad for the first time, whilst Jones is recalled alongside Kate Cross and Tash Farrant.

  • Heather Knight (captain, Berkshire)
  • Tammy Beaumont (Kent)
  • Kate Cross (Lancashire)
  • Alice Davidson-Richards (Kent)
  • Sophie Ecclestone (Lancashire)
  • Tash Farrant (Kent)
  • Katie George (Hampshire)
  • Jenny Gunn (Warwickshire)
  • Alex Hartley (Lancashire)
  • Danielle Hazell (Yorkshire)
  • Amy Jones (wicketkeeper, Warwickshire)
  • Nat Sciver (Surrey)
  • Anya Shrubsole (Somerset)
  • Bryony Smith (Surrey)
  • Fran Wilson (Middlesex)
  • Danni Wyatt (Sussex)

The sixteen-strong group doesn’t feature Sarah Taylor or Katherine Brunt, with Brunt unavailable after injuring her back during the Women’s Big Bash League and Taylor rested.

Coach Mark Robinson is looking forward to testing new players and adding new options to his squad in a year that sees England play host to New Zealand and South Africa and take part in the ICC World T20 in the West Indies.

“We’ve said for a long time that we need to play more games and it’s exciting that we’ve been able to arrange this very competitive series outside of the ICC Women’s Championship,” said Robinson.

“It gives us a chance to see other players and measure their progress and that also means we can rest and rotate. In Sarah’s case, she’s been doing really well and we always targeted this period as one where she can focus on her well-being in preparation for what will be a busy summer leading into the ICC World T20.

“It’s very exciting to have three new faces in the group – and to welcome back a few others. Obviously that means a few have missed out but they can use the time to their advantage and come back more strongly.”