Jones and Gunn amongst 21 players to be awarded contracts

England Women have announced their new raft of central contracts for 2019, with Warwickshire seamer Jenny Gunn and wicket-keeper Amy Jones named in the group of 21.

Bryony Smith, Linsey Smith, Alice Davidson-Richards and Katie George are four players to be awarded rookie contracts.

Tash Farrant and Beth Langston have been released, while Dani Hazell announced her retirement from the international game last month.

The new contracts signify a higher level of remuneration for England Women, continuing the trend since the women’s game turned professional in 2014.

The overall salary pot has grown by 10 per cent on 2018, with several players receiving an increase of between 15 and 30 per cent on their 2018 salary. The bonus pot for bi-lateral series wins has also been increased by 25 per cent.

The full retained list is as follows:

  • Tammy Beaumont (Kent)
  • Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire)
  • Kate Cross (Lancashire)
  • Freya Davies (Sussex)
  • Sophie Ecclestone (Lancashire)
  • Georgia Elwiss (Sussex)
  • Jenny Gunn (Warwickshire)
  • Alex Hartley (Lancashire)
  • Amy Jones (Warwickshire)
  • Heather Knight (Berkshire)
  • Laura Marsh (Kent)
  • Nat Sciver (Surrey)
  • Anya Shrubsole (Somerset)
  • Sarah Taylor (Sussex)
  • Fran Wilson (Kent)
  • Lauren Winfield (Yorkshire)
  • Danni Wyatt (Sussex)
  • Alice Davidson-Richards (Kent)*
  • Katie George (Hampshire)*
  • Bryony Smith (Surrey)*
  • Linsey Smith (Sussex)*

*Rookie contract