Warwickshire County Cricket Club spin bowler and long-serving overseas player Jeetan Patel has been shortlisted for the headline honour of NatWest Players’ Player of the Year at the upcoming NatWest PCA Awards.

The NatWest Player of the Year and Reg Hayter Cup leads the most prestigious awards ceremony in English cricket and Jeetan is joined by Northamptonshire’s Ben Duckett, Durham batsman Keaton Jennings and Essex all-rounder Graham Napier on the shortlist.

The flagship award, which is voted for by current  professional cricketers in England and Wales, will be presented at the 47th NatWest PCA Awards which will be held at Grosvenor House Hotel in London on Wednesday  September 28.

Jeetan is a nominee for the second time in three years after a consistent summer which saw him lead the PCA Most Valuable Player Rankings for the majority of the second half of the campaign and starred in the club’s run to lifting the Royal London One-Day Cup, taking 22 wickets in the process.

He has taken almost 100 wickets across all formats, with four five wicket hauls in the Specsavers County Championship including 10 wickets in the win over Surrey at Guildford which briefly took Warwickshire top of the First Division in early July.

Northamptonshire’s Duckett is also shortlisted for the NatWest Young Player of the Year and the John Arlott Cup alonside Kent’s Daniel Bell-Drummond and Surrey’s Sam Curran and Lancashire’s Haseeb Hameed.

There are also three nominees in the Waitrose Women’s Player of the Summer category, voted for by players who featured for England women this summer who earmarked Tammy Beaumont, Natalie Sciver and Lauren Winfield as contenders.

The NatWest PCA Awards evening is an event run by the PCA in association with the England and Wales Cricket Board and will once again be sponsored by NatWest after previously holding naming rights for 10 years. The Awards reflect on and honour the domestic season with all monies raised on the night going to the PCA Benevolent Fund.


  • Ben Duckett (Northamptonshire)
  • Keaton Jennings (Durham)
  • Jeetan Patel (Warwickshire)
  • Graham Napier (Essex)


  • Daniel Bell-Drummond (Kent)
  • Sam Curran (Surrey)
  • Ben Duckett (Northamptonshire)
  • Haseeb Hameed (Lancashire)


  • Tammy Beaumont
  • Natalie Sciver
  • Lauren Winfield

Full list of Awards to be presented on Wednesday September 28

  • Harold Goldblatt Award for the PCA Umpire of the Year
  • Greene King PCA England Masters MVP
  • ECB Special Award
  • PCA Special Merit Award
  • NatWest T20 Blast Player of the Year Award
  • Royal London One Day Cup Player of the Year Award
  • Sky Sports Sixes Award
  • Greene King Team of the Year
  • Waitrose Women’s Player of the Summer
  • Investec Test Player of the Summer
  • John Arlott Cup for the NatWest PCA Young Player of the Year
  • Reg Hayter Cup for the NatWest PCA Player of the Year
  • Overall PCA County MVP