Joe Root has finished top of England Professional Cricketers’ Association Most Valuable Player Rankings for the 2017 season.

England’s Test captain took 10 points from Friday’s final One Day International against the West Indies at the Ageas Bowl to take first place.

Root finished four points clear of Ben Stokes with 326 across all formats during the longest-ever English season with Moeen Ali third on 280 points, Jonny Bairstow fourth with 240 points and Jimmy Anderson, who only featured in Tests, fifth with 203 points.

Root made 46 from 44 balls at the Ageas Bowl which also helped him to finish top of this season’s England PCA MVP Rankings in One Day International cricket. He ended the season with 172 points in 50 overs cricket, 28 points ahead of Ali with Stokes third on 126 points.

Liam Plunkett finished fourth on 122 points with Bairstow taking fifth place with a storming finish to the season. Bairstow’s ODI-best of 141 at the Ageas Bowl earned him 31 batting points and his match haul of 32 rankings points took him to 110 in ODIs this season.

Bairstow nudged Eoin Morgan, England’s white ball captain, to sixth in the ODI rankings but Morgan remains England’s all-time highest points earner in the format in PCA MVP history. Morgan now has 1,128 points in ODIs with Anderson (911 points) second and Stuart Broad (904) behind him.

The PCA MVP Rankings system was introduced in 2007, an innovation which provides a more rigorous analysis of player performances than traditional batting and bowling averages.

The rankings were designed by the players to identify the match-winners and key influencers of matches throughout the domestic season.

Anderson finished top of England’s Test PCA MVP Rankings on 203 points, seven more than Stokes and Plunkett topped the T20 International rankings with 35 points, two ahead of Bairstow.

Click here to view the England PCA MVP Rankings

England at Edgbaston in 2018

Joe Root returns to Edgbaston in 2018 with the England Test team for the first match of a five-Test series against India, starting on Wednesday 1 August.

For further ticket information and the full programme of major matches at Edgbaston in 2018, click the link below:

Click here for ticket info