Sam Hain’s fantastic season in red and white ball cricket was recognised at the Club’s Player Awards, held at Edgbaston on Saturday 1 October.

The batter, who scored 1,156 runs with four centuries in the LV= Insurance County Championship and Vitality Blast, scooped the County Championship player of the Year (1,137 runs, three centuries), which was voted for by the Members and the prestigious Players’ Player of the Season.

With 11 awards presented on the night amongst the Warwickshire Access, Seniors, Women’s and Men’s teams, the evening was the perfect  opportunity to recognise all their hard work over the summer.

Rob Yates added The Royal London Cup Player of the Year after finishing top of the run charts with 412 runs (one hundred), whilst Adam Hose secured the Vitality Blast Player of the Year following a season, which saw the 29-year-old score 557 runs (one hundred) in 14 innings.

Jake Lintott deservedly picked up the Rick Coleman Community Engagement Award after a season of player appearances for the Warwickshire Cricket Board and Edgbaston Foundation, recreational coaching, and social media support for young leg spinners. 

Unsurprisingly, Liam Norwell was awarded the Kim Jones Award for Performance of the Season after his final day nine for 52 heroics secured the Bears victory over Hampshire, helping to retain Division One status for 2023.

Georgia Davis was the big winner for Bears Women, following a season that saw Dominic Ostler’s side lift the Women’s T20 trophy. The off-spinner took 13 wickets, securing the Women’s Players’ Player for a second successive season. Lara Jones, who Captain’s a young Second XI side, was chosen as the Women’s Second XI Player’s Player of the Season.

For the seniors, Harold Turned collected the Alan Oakman Trophy for Seniors Player of the Season, after a successful campaign for both the over-60s and over-70s teams. 

Warwickshire Access, who reached the regional finals, chose Aqeel Hubba and Mohammed Abbas for the Steve Carter Cup and Players’ Player of the Season respectively.

At the start of the evening, Stuart Cain addressed the room to discuss the fortunes of all the Warwickshire teams as well as thank Paul Farbrace for his service, having announced his departure last month.

Thank you to all our sponsors for the evening – Birmingham City University, Carling, Coca Cola, Dragon Signs, FLR Group, Fordhall Farm, Hobgoblin, Mainstream Print, Scrivens Opticians and Hearing Care, Selco Builders Warehouse, Shimla Gin, Sytner Oldbury, Talbots Law and The Ticket Factory.

Award Winners

Warwickshire Access

  • Warwickshire Access Steve Carter Cup, sponsored by Birmingham City University – Aqeel Hubba
  • Warwickshire Access Players’ Player of the Season, sponsored by Coca Cola – Mohammed Abbas

Warwickshire Seniors

  • Alan Oakman Trophy Player of the Season, sponsored Sytner BMW Oldbury – Harold Turner

Warwickshire Women

  • Women’s 2nd Players’ Player of the Season, sponsored by Fordhall Farm – Lara Jones
  • Women’s Players’ Player of the Season, sponsored by Mainstream Print – Georgia Davis

Warwickshire Men

  • Rick Coleman Community Engagement Award, sponsored by Selco Builders Warehouse – Jake Lintott
  • County Championship Player of the Year, sponsored by Dragon Signs – Sam Hain
  • Royal London Cup Player of the Year, sponsored by FLR Group – Rob Yates
  • Vitality Blast Player of the Year, sponsored by Talbots Law – Adam Hose
  • Kim Jones Award for Performance of the Year, sponsored by The TicketFactory – Liam Norwell v Hampshire 9/62
  • Men’s Players’ Player of the Season, sponsored by Scrivens Opticians and Hearing Care – Sam Hain

2024 Membership: Together, we are Bears

Make Edgbaston your home this summer. Membership is the best value way to access all home Warwickshire domestic cricket in 2024, plus exclusive benefits including free guest passes.

White-ball only and Junior Bears Memberships for under 16s are also available. Find out more and join the Club today.

Buy Membership More Info