Edgbaston is a ground steeped in classic Test Matches. Every year the stadium delivers something special with England players inspired by the unforgettable atmosphere.

Here’s a look back at the five most recent Tests in Edgbaston’s amazing history… for the best chance to be part of the next major Test match, next year,  you can now enter the ballot for West Indies tickets in 2020…

2015 v Australia: England won by 8 wickets

England stamped their authority all over the Ashes series on an amazing first day which ranks as one of the memorable in all Test history.

Australia, having chosen to bat, were rattled out for 136 as Jimmy Anderson ripped through them with six wickets. By the close, England had already raced to 133 for three with the Bears’ own Ian Bell having struck ten fours in a dazzling half-century.

With a first-innings lead of 145, England made short work of the Aussies’ batting again, this time Steve Finn taking the six-for. Half-centuries from Bell and Joe Root then eased England to victory as  Bell added ten more sparkling boundaries to his ten in the first innings.

2016 v Pakistan: England won by 141 runs

A brilliant fightback win for England. Pakistan were in a great position at 181 for one in reply to 397, but England’s bowlers, led by Bears favourite Chris Woakes, fought tigerishly to restrict the tourists’ first-innings lead to 103.

The batsmen then clicked as a unit – Alastair Cook 66, Alex Hales 54, Joe Root 62, Jonny Bairstow 83, Moeen Ali 86 not out – to set Pakistan a testing target of 342 before the bowlers clicked even more spectacularly as a unit. Two wickets each for James Anderson, Stuart Broad, Woakes, Steve Finn and Moeen Ali bowled Pakistan out for 201 to send the crowd in the legendary Hollies Stand into overdrive.

2017 v West Indies: England won by an innings and 2019 runs

Edgbaston was, as so often, a host to history. The first pink-ball Test in England took place in Birmingham and the home team took to the concept very adroitly, completely dominating the match.

Alastair Cook amassed 243, his second Test double-century at Edgbaston, and Joe Root added a classy 136 to lift England to 514 for eight declared.

Two of the all-time great fast-bowlers then got busy. James Anderson and Stuart Broad shared half of the 20 wickets as West Indies were bowled out for 168 and 137. New concept, familiar story: England in command at Edgbaston.

2018 v India: England won by 31 runs

Two of the great Test nations produced a great match the outcome of which was in the balance for every moment from first ball to last.

Joe Root (80) and Jonny Bairstow (70) lifted England to 287 – not a huge first innings total but enough for a slender lead after India were bowled out for 274 despite a masterly century from Virat Kohli.

India hit back hard in the third innings to have England in deep trouble at 87 for seven only for Sam Curran, having already taken four wickets in the match, to write his name emphatically into Edgbaston history with a vivid counter-attack which brought him a thrilling 63 and left India facing a tickly target of 194.

Amid huge tension, the tourists inched their way towards victory but England’s seamers worked away at the batting order. Ben Stokes took four wickets and Jimmy Anderson and Stuart Broad two apiece as India were dismissed for 162.

2019 v Australia: Australia won by 251 runs

Edgbaston is a truly inspiring venue – unfortunately it can inspire opposing teams, as well as England, to great heights. Right at the start of the 2019 Ashes, the Aussies imposed themselves on the series courtesy of the brilliance of Steve Smith whose two centuries formed the backbone of a big win.

Smith carried his side’s first innings with 144 out of 284. Then, after Rory Burns’ century earned England a first-innings lead of 90, the former captain’s 142 powered Australia first to safety and then to a position from which they could put pressure on England.  Set a victory target of 398, England were bowled out for 146 and a brilliant Ashes series, which was to end 2-2, was launched.

Edgbaston’s 2020 Major Match Ticket Ballot is NOW OPEN and gives you the best chance of securing Major Match Day tickets.

The Ticket Ballot will close at 5pm on Wednesday 25 September, with ballot winners allocated from Friday 27 September. All remaining tickets will go on general sale from Thursday 10 October.