Players who have shown considerable potential throughout 2016 have been rewarded this week, and notified of their involvement in one of Warwickshire County Cricket Club’s elite youth training programmes.

Three current stars of English cricket, Chris Woakes, Moeen Ali and Amy Jones, all emerged from the Warwickshire CCC Academy pathway, indicating that the sky is the limit for these young players as they aspire to be the best they can be, and play at the highest level.

Both the Academy and Emerging Player Programme focus on the key skills that any young player will require for the professional game. They have the opportunity to upskill technically, but also learn the key mental, physical and tactical components that are vital to succeed.

Warwickshire CCC Academy 2016-17

The Warwickshire Academy has provided the club’s professional squad with three signed players in 2016 alone; batsmen Matthew Lamb and Liam Banks, and seam bowler George Panayi.

Banks and Panayi will also train with England U19’s this winter as they prepare for a tour to India.

This winter’s Academy intake includes five retained players and we welcome three new players to the fold.

  • Mohammed Ahmed (U18, Berkswell CC)
  • Henry Brookes (U18, Knowle & Dorridge CC)
  • Georgia Davis (U18, Walmley CC)
  • Bethan Ellis (U18, Berkswell CC & Standard CC) *new*
  • Harry Johnson (U18, Kenilworth Wardens CC) *new*
  • George Garrett (U17, Harpenden CC) *new*
  • Robert Yates (U17, Moseley CC)
  • Ben Griffin (U16, Knowle & Dorridge CC)

Warwickshire CCC Emerging Player Programme 2016-17

The Emerging Player Programme provides young players with a potential stepping stone from county age group cricket to Academy selection.

Boys and girls have been selected from the U15 to U18 age groups this year.

  • Matthew Davison (U18, Leamington CC)
  • Khayam Khan (U18, West Bromwich Dartmouth CC)
  • Finlay McCreath (U18, Grange CC)
  • Ria Fackrell (U17, Standard CC & Berkswell CC)
  • Tiarna Gilkes (U17, Nuneaton CC)
  • Jacques Banton (U16, Barnt Green CC)
  • Ethan Brookes (U16, Knowle & Dorridge CC)
  • Alice Dixon (U16, Walmley CC)
  • Edmund Gaffney (U16, Little Stoke CC)
  • Daniel Grounds (U16, Moddershall CC)
  • Amelia Kite (U16, Astwood Bank CC)
  • Daniel Mousley (U16, Kenilworth Wardens CC)
  • Archie O’Hara (U16, Wolverhampton CC)
  • Grace Ballinger (U15, Walmley CC)
  • Jeevan Barhey (U15, Rugby CC)
  • David Burnell (U15, Kings Langley CC)
  • Awais Mohammed (U15, Berkswell CC)
  • Isabelle Wong (U15, Knowle & Dorridge CC)

The Academy and EPP are inducted at Edgbaston on Sunday 6th November prior to winter training commencing. A group of 12 Academy and EPP players have also been invited on a training camp to Colombo, Sri Lanka in February 2017.