The Greatest Ever roll of honour is now complete after a series of online polls in which Warwickshire supporters have voted in their thousands.

It’s the series that has had Bears fans and former players talking across the world this year. Lockdown may have kept cricket on ice but there was no holding back on the debates about who was the Greatest Ever in the 17 categories.

Many thanks to all the Bears fans who participated…and brought joy to some true Bears legends when they were learned they had won an accolade.

After being voted Greatest Ever Overseas Bear, Allan Donald said: “I am very humbled and honoured. Just to be on the short-list was amazing, I would have been happy with just that, but to be voted Greatest Overseas Bears makes me very, very proud.”

“I’ve followed the Greatest Bear series closely, it’s been great, and it means so much to me, just like it did to A.D when he was voted Greatest Overseas Bear. Warwickshire is tattooed on all our hearts.”

Andy Moles

Andy Moles, who was voted Greatest Ever Bear Never To Play Test Cricket, said: “It is very humbling. I was so lucky to play for a great club like Warwickshire and play with, and be coached by, such brilliant people. To be voted on to the Greatest Ever list is just the cherry on the top. Thank you to everyone who voted for me.

Based upon all the votes cast, the Greatest Ever Bears team is:

  1. Jameson
  2. Amiss
  3. Moles
  4. Lara
  5. Penney
  6. Reeve
  7. Cartwright
  8. Piper
  9. Small
  10. Donald
  11. Hollies

All the winners

  • Overseas: Allan Donald
  • Captain: Dermot Reeve
  • Spinner and Individual Bowling Performance: Eric Hollies
  • All-rounder: Tom Cartwright
  • Batsman: Dennis Amiss
  • Seamer: Allan Donald
  • Fielder: Trevor Penney
  • Wicketkeeper: Keith Piper
  • Opening pair (batting): Dennis Amiss and John Jameson
  • Opening pair (bowling): Allan Donald and Gladstone Small
  • Individual Batting Performance: Brian Lara
  • Player Never Capped by England: Andy Moles
  • Championship Match: v Surrey (The Oval) 2002
  • Lord’s final: 1993 NatWest Trophy v Sussex
  • T20 match: 2017 Quarter-Final v Surrey at The Oval
  • T20 player: Jeetan Patel
  • T20 innings: Brendon McCullum