England Men’s Head Coach Chris Silverwood has named Bears all-rounder Chris Woakes in a 16-player squad for The Vitality IT20 Series against Sri Lanka starting at Sophia Gardens, Cardiff on Wednesday 23 June 2021.

Woakes returns to the squad for the first time since 2015. His last international cap in this format came in November 2015 against Pakistan.

  • Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) Captain
  • Moeen Ali (Worcestershire Rapids)
  • Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire Vikings)
  • Sam Billings (Kent)
  • Jos Buttler (Lancashire Lightning)
  • Sam Curran (Surrey)
  • Tom Curran (Surrey)
  • Liam Dawson (Hampshire Hawks)
  • Chris Jordan (Sussex Sharks)
  • Liam Livingstone (Lancashire Lightning)
  • Dawid Malan (Yorkshire Vikings)
  • Adil Rashid (Yorkshire Vikings)
  • Jason Roy (Surrey)
  • David Willey (Yorkshire Vikings)
  • Chris Woakes (Birmingham Bears)
  • Mark Wood (Durham)

England Men’s Head Coach, Chris Silverwood, said: “With the T20 World Cup only a few months away, this summer is about perfecting our team and continue to progress on the field. We want to approach every series with an influx of players aiming to win every match and giving us the best preparation as we get closer to the tournament.

“With several high-profile players missing through injury, it allows me to look at some of our experienced players who have not featured at this level for some time. The likes of Chris Woakes and David Willey are very experienced cricketers, and to have them both in the mix is exciting and shows the depth of squad we have available.

Chris Silverwood

“I want our team to play an attacking form of the game. I hope we can continue to excite the England fans with our approach.”

The England Men’s IT20 squad will report to its Cardiff base on Saturday 19 June.