England National Cricket Selectors have named a 13-strong squad for the first #raisethebat Test match against West Indies at Ageas Bowl starting on Wednesday 8 July.

Warwickshire’s Chris Woakes and Dominic Sibley have both been named in the 13, while fast bowler Olly Stone will remain at the Ageas Bowl as one of nine Test reserves.

England Men’s Test Squad

  • Ben Stokes (Durham) Captain
  • James Anderson (Lancashire)
  • Jofra Archer (Sussex)
  • Dominic Bess (Somerset)
  • Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
  • Rory Burns (Surrey)
  • Jos Buttler (Lancashire)
  • Zak Crawley (Kent)
  • Joe Denly (Kent)
  • Ollie Pope (Surrey)
  • Dom Sibley (Warwickshire)
  • Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)
  • Mark Wood (Durham)

Test Reserves

  • James Bracey (Gloucestershire)
  • Sam Curran (Surrey)
  • Ben Foakes (Surrey)
  • Dan Lawrence (Essex)
  • Jack Leach (Somerset)
  • Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire)
  • Craig Overton (Somerset)
  • Ollie Robinson (Sussex)
  • Olly Stone (Warwickshire)

Durham all-rounder Ben Stokes is set to become the 81st England men’s Test captain on Wednesday after it was confirmed earlier in the week that he will replace Yorkshire’s Joe Root as captain.

Root, who has returned to Sheffield to be at the birth of his second child, left the secure bubble in Southampton earlier this week. He will self-isolate for seven days before joining up with the squad ahead of the second Test at Emirates Old Trafford starting on 16 July.